Apathetic copacetic

Yesterday I was listening to a podcast and the  podcaster used the word copacetic.  I had read this word before and heard it before.  But, being the lazy person that I am, I had never looked it up.  So, I decided to change my lazy ways!  I looked it up.  (Amazing but true, I do not know all of the words in the dictionary . . . )  Here’s the definition.

Copacetic (koh-puh-set-ik) means fine, completely  satisfactory, or okay.  If you say that you had a copacetic day at work, you could have a completely satisfactory day . . . or maybe just an okay day.  Depending on your tone of voice, your meaning could indicate your day was pretty good or that it was just so-so.

That leads me to the word apathetic.  Apathetic (ap-uh-thet-ik) means having or showing little or no emotion.  Indifference.  Unresponsive.  Apathetic.  The podcaster was reviewing a software program.  He said it was copacetic.  His tone of voice indicated that it was just so-so.  It was an apathetic endorsement of the software — if you could call it an endorsement!  He certainly wasn’t jubilant or excited about it.  I think that if I had been  interested in buying the software, his lukewarm feelings toward it would influence me to not buy it.

Hope you have more than a copacetic day.   Make it great!

Posted in New Words. Comments Off on Apathetic copacetic
