A New Word and A Change

I recently read an article in the newspaper that talked about the nascent voices in contemporary musical theater. Since my blog and podcast are nascent themselves, I thought that I would share that word with you today.

Nascent (ney-suhnt) is an adjective that means beginning to exist or to develop. So these nascent ‘voices’ are new voices, people who are not established in the contemporary musical arena. They are the new kids on the block.

Nascent could also refer to newly formed countries or governments, businesses or organizations, friendships and relationships. (If you told your girlfriend that your relationship with her was nascent, she might slap you on the face – if she doesn’t understand what nascent means!)

My blog and podcast are nascent, relatively new and haven’t been in existence for very long. You’ll notice that I have changed the design of my blog. I have also added a search feature in the right sidebar. If you remember a word that I have posted in my blog but can’t remember the definition, you can use the search bar to find it! Hope this helps.

Feel free to e-mail me to let me know what you think of these two changes. And as always, feel free to e-mail me to share a word or two – and I’ll be happy to put it in my blog. My e-mail address is: wordsmithie@gmail.com.

Adios!

Posted in New Words. Comments Off on A New Word and A Change
