Abnegate, Abjure, Elucidate

Sometimes when I get home from work, I am tired.  I don’t feel like doing any work.  I don’t want to weed the yard, clean the house, do the  laundry.  I have to force myself to abnegate relaxing and lounging activities so that  I can get things done.

Abnegate (ab-ni-gey)  is a verb that means renounce, deny, surrender, relinquish, give up.  (So I have to give up relaxing activities in place of doing necessary work!)  During some religious conflicts, people have abnegated (or denied) their belief in God or in specific religious beliefs with the hopes of not being persecuted. Catholic priests abnegate (relinquish or deny themselves) marriage when they become a priest.  Sometimes kings or rulers have abnegated (relinquished or given up) power to ministers or other leaders.

Sometimes a person will abnegate (or restrain themselves) from pleasurable things such as alcoholic beverages.  Some people abnegate luxuries of life to lead a simple life without a lot of materialism.  For example, instead of living in a huge expensive home with expensive furnishings, they might live in a simple home with humble furnishings.

A word that is similar to abnegate is the word abjure.  Abjure (ab-joor) is a verb that means to renounce.  Sometimes this is under oath.  Or, a person can solemnly abjure his allegiance to a political group or a country.  He renounces and gives up his association with them.  It can also mean formally reject a previously held belief.  This is usually under pressure to retract or take back their statements.

The last word is elucidate.  Elucidate (i-loo-si-deyt) is a verb that means to explain, to provide clarification or understanding or to make plain.  I gave one of my employees a task to do.  A day later, as I was talking to him, I discovered that he really didn’t understand what he had to do.  So I elucidated the task for him – I provided more explanation until he understood the task.

Some TV documentaries elucidate the mysteries of science so that someone without a scientific background can understand science.  Sometimes guest lecturers to a college campus elucidates political situations in different areas of the world.  They provide background and understanding to what is happening.

I  hope that I elucidate (make plain) the meaning and definitions of the words that  I share on my blog  and in my podcast!!

One Response to “Abnegate, Abjure, Elucidate”

  1. Brian Coatney Says:

    This is very good. I like words used in a context.


Leave a Reply

