I’m Stopping My Jeremiad!

I think that life is slowing down somewhat for me so that I can get back into the swing of posting to my blog and making my podcast. I feel that sometimes I have used my blog as a jeremiad.

Jeremiad (jer-uh-mahy-uhd) is a noun that means a prolonged lamentation or mournful complaint. This word has an interesting background. It was created in reference to Jeremiah’s lamentations in the Old Testament. I have been mournfully complaining about being swamped both at work and in my personal life. This jeremiad has been going on for 3 weeks! My readers have probably given up on me . . . .

Sometimes children launch into a jeremiad when they are not allowed to do an activity that they would like to do. Or when they can’t have something that they think they really need. Students in school might have a semester long jeremiad against a certain class or teacher that they think is exceptionally difficult. Employees assigned to a project that they don’t like might break out in a jeremiad at every opportune time.

The next word I want to share today is kith. You’ve probably heard the expression ‘kith and kin.’ Kin refers to kindred or to a person’s relatives collectively. Their kinfolk. Kith (kith) is a noun that refers to familiar friends and neighbors. It could also include relatives. So the expression ‘kith and kin’ refers to friends and family.

Last night my husband and I went with some kith (friends) to the play Charlie’s Aunt. Over the Labor Day week-end, we took our son and his kiths (a group of friends) hiking down Burrow Wash in Capital Reef Park in southern Utah. We have had some kith (neighbors) over for a pot luck Dutch oven meal. One time we even hosted a 4th of July activity where our kith (about 50 of our neighbors) brought over fireworks and set them off and then had punch and cookies.

I hope that your activities with your kith will not cause you to have any jeremiads!

Leave a Reply

