A Good Word for Halloween

Today is a day for candy — lots of it!! And some candy is more cibarious than other kinds.

Cibarious (si-bar-ee-uhs) is an adjective that means edible or fit to be eaten. As I write this, I’m trying to think of a candy that I think is NOT cibarious. I’m having a hard time coming up with something . . . That must mean I like all kinds of candy. WAIT! I have had some types of licorice from Europe and even a salt licorice from Canada that I’m not particularly fond of.

But, Rollos, caramels, Sugar Babies, Malt Balls, licorice flavored salt water taffy, cinnamon bears, and Hot Tamales are the kinds of candy that I think are cibarious. Almond Joys are nice, too, as are Snickers and Milky Way candy bars.

When someone is beginning to learn how to cook, some of the food cooked is not cibarious. That is the food is not fit to be eaten. When I was a new bride, my husband invited one of his friends over for dinner. I fixed pork chops. Or rather, I attempted to fix pork chops. What a disaster. Certainly NOT cibarious.

Over the years, I have improved my culinary skills. Most of the time, my meals are tasty cibarious culinary delights. Mostly.

Leave a Reply

