Logy after a Long Day

When I was in the 5th grade, I collected marbles.  Or should I say I won them from playing unsuspecting boys who refused to believe how good I was.  (After one or two games, you would have thought they would learn that they couldn’t beat THIS girl!)  My favorite marbles were the bumble bee ones, black with swirls of yellow.  My next favorites were the crystals (one solid clear color) — especially red crystals.  Cat-eyes were too common to be of much worth to me.

Words are to me now as a grown-up as marbles were to me then as a nine-year old.  My bumble bee words are those that are new or unusual. Words that roll off my tongue with spunk.  Words like logy.

Logy [loh-gee] is an adjective that means lacking physical or mental energy or vitality; sluggish; dull; lethargic.  As I write this, it is chilly outside.  And dark.  It’s been a long day at work.  I don’t have any physical energy to do anything more constructive than to snuggle on the couch with my laptop.

On a hot summer day, the heat and humidity might make a person logy (lethargic).  A bear just coming out of hibernation might be logy (sluggish and dull).  After a hard game of playing football, the football players might be logy (lacking in vitality).

Writers may feel dull and therefore logy in their writing.  Grandparents may be logy when compared to a grandchild.  After running a marathon, the runners might feel very logy because their energy is all used up.

Whatever the cause of your logy-ness, I hope that your vim and vigor return after a restful (not restive) night’s sleep.

Posted in New Words. Comments Off on Logy after a Long Day
