A Definition for My Husband

I’m sitting in my office (the sofa in our family room).  My husband is reading the Reader’s Digest and comes across a word he doesn’t know.  “What does nadir mean?”

Nadir.  Nadir.  Nadir. Mmmmm. . . The word bounces around my brain seeking a definition.  No definition reaches out to claim it.  I’m at a loss.  But I, the wordsmithie of the household, can’t admit that I don’t know the definition of a word.  That’s unthinkable.

Full of confidence I say, “It refers to a . . . a . . . a . . . point . . .”

My husband looks expectantly at me waiting for me to finish.

I quickly pull up dictionary.com on my laptop that is resting on my lap top.  (Funny thing!)  I try to be sneaky because I don’t want him to know that I had look up the definition.  That wouldn’t be cool.

“It’s the lowest or deepest point.”

He raises one eyebrow.  He knows.  He knows.  He knows that I looked it up online.  Sigh.

Nadir [ney-der] is a noun that means the lowest or deepest point; point of greatest adversity or despair.  I almost sink into a nadir of despair because I didn’t remember the definition of the word.  I knew it once.  I really did.  But I just couldn’t dust off the cobwebs from my synapses to bring the definition back into the daylight of my recall.  I hate it when that happens.

Someone could experience nadir when they lose a job, get a divorce, or go bankrupt. They could feel nadir of despair when something they really wanted to do falls through.  Or when they fail a college class.  Or when they go through chemotherapy but it doesn’t kill all of the cancer and they only have a few weeks left to live.

Eww, all of this is depressing.

But then, that’s what this word is all about.

Posted in New Words. Comments Off on A Definition for My Husband
